State Treasurer of Iowa


Official Publication of Safe Deposit Box Properties

Each year, financial institutions across the state of Iowa are required to report contents from abandoned safe deposit boxes. Once the contents are received, the Treasurer’s Office makes every attempt to locate the rightful owners. Letters are mailed to the last known address; names are published in a newspaper in the county of the last known address; names are posted on the website; names are taken to the Iowa State Fair and other events around the state; and a search of online databases is completed to determine if there is an updated address for the lost owner.

The Treasurer’s Office is authorized to sell contents at a public auction when it is no longer feasible to hold the contents in the vault. 

Start Your Search

Upcoming Auctions

May 30

The first auction will begin on May 30 hosted by Lone Star Auctioneers, which specializes in selling unclaimed safe deposit box contents from state unclaimed property programs. The auction website link is Bidding is open to anyone registered and approved on Lone Star Auctioneers with a valid U.S. mailing address.

Below is a list of safe deposit box owners with items that will be up for sale in the auction. If you are on the list and would like to make a claim for your items, visit and enter the Property ID in the Property ID field. 

Make a Claim

Property ID Name
2003011412 Anne E Furman
2008007457 Berneta Weathers
2009019542 C A Christopherson
2004011635 Charles D McClaud Sr
2009013745 David J and Nicole A Mickelson
2009013758 David Scherer and Lucille Scherer
2008007396 Dorene Davis
2009001450 Jeffrey B Long
2008005428 Mark Grabenbauer
2009013766 Martha Celia Stehn
2004016405 Timothy Mussman
2009019427 Unknown
2009019433 Unknown
2009019437 Unknown
2009019441 Unknown
2009019446 Unknown
2009019447 Unknown
2009019453 Unknown
2009019467 Unknown
2009019477 Unknown
2009019481 Unknown
2009019503 Unknown
2009019517 Unknown
2009019529 Unknown


June 13 Auction

Property ID Name
2009019542 C A Christopherson
2009019545 Ralph Crookshank
2009019578 Helen Dean Shinabargar
2009019578 Stan T Shinabargar
2009019586 Marie Tweet
2009052326 David Leurd
2009052336 Maxine Richmond
2009069695 Dennis Thompson
2009069702 Jeni Davis
2009069707 Brett Loas
2009070162 Dirk Christensen
2009105007 Rob Roberson Jr
2009105009 Ben Sweeney
2009105010 Maplet Wayman
2009114181 Phyllis J Mullins
2010195188 Unknown
9700025426 Louise Colclaser
9711011060 Gordon Fowler


© 2023 State Treasurer of Iowa. All rights reserved.