State Treasurer of Iowa

Alessandra Leo of Des Moines Awarded Robert D. Blue Scholarship

August 14, 2015

DES MOINES, Iowa – State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, a member of the Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation, announced today that Alessandra Leo of Des Moines was among four students to receive a Robert D. Blue scholarship award for the 2015-2016 school year. The Robert D. Blue Scholarship, which is given by the Foundation, awarded four Iowa students to assist in covering expenses at an Iowa college. The recipients represented three Iowa counties and four Iowa schools.

“Students selected to receive this award must be a citizen of Iowa and demonstrate literary and scholastic ability; exhibit qualities of truth, courage, and fellowship; and display moral force of character,” commented Fitzgerald. “Alessandra is an excellent example of the type of student we were looking for.” Leo will be continuing her education at the University of Iowa this fall.

Awards were based on the review of an application, letters of recommendation, scholastic achievement and an essay on the responsibility of a citizen toward his or her community. Additional information about the Robert D. Blue Scholarship is available online at

Foundation members include Governor Terry Branstad, Attorney General Tom Miller, State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald, Board of Education President Charlie Edwards; former governors Chester Culver, Tom Vilsack, and Robert Ray; and citizen members Elaine Estes, Arvid Huisman, Wayne Marty and Janet Metcalf.


« Back

© 2018 State Treasurer of Iowa. All rights reserved.