State Treasurer of Iowa

The Treasurer's Office

Michael Fitzgerald

Meet Michael Fitzgerald

Michael L. Fitzgerald was born in Marshalltown, Iowa. His family farmed outside of State Center and later Colo, where he graduated from high school. He attended the University of Iowa and received his Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. Prior to being elected state treasurer in 1982, Michael worked as a marketing analyst for Massey Ferguson Company in Des Moines for eight years.

Treasurer Fitzgerald has become a leader in public service during his tenure as state treasurer. He has served as president of several national organizations. He serves as trustee and custodian of Iowa's three state pension funds. In addition, he invests over three billion dollars of state operating funds. He has returned over $243 million in lost property through the Great Iowa Treasure Hunt. Treasurer Fitzgerald is the administrator of Iowa’s 529 College Savings Programs including College Savings Iowa, with over $5 billion invested.


As state treasurer, Fitzgerald is active in national organizations that have an impact on issues in Iowa.

College Savings Plans Network (past chair)

National Association of State Treasurers (past president)

National Association of State Auditors, Comptrollers and Treasurers (past president)

National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators (past president)

State Debt Management Network

Boards and Committees

In addition, Fitzgerald serves on the following boards and committees in Iowa:

Executive Council*

Flood Mitigation Board*

Iowa Centennial Memorial Foundation*

Iowa Comprehensive Petroleum Underground Storage Tank Board*

Iowa Cultural Trust

Iowa Grain Indemnity Board*

Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority  

Iowa Finance Authority

Iowa Lottery Authority

Iowa Public Employees Retirement System (IPERS)*

Peace Officers' Retirement, Accident and Disability System*

Rate Setting Committee*

State Appeals Board*

State Records Commission*

Southeast Iowa Regional Port Authority

Tobacco Settlement Authority*


*Denotes Voting Member



© 2019 State Treasurer of Iowa. All rights reserved.